Although safety advocates and many researchers have linked cellphone use to distracted driving-related car accidents, the laws regarding cellphone use while driving vary from state to state, with some states having a complete ban on the use of hand-held cellphones when driving while other states have a partial or no ban in place. Because many of these cellphone bans have been instituted as primary traffic laws in a number of states, it’s important that drivers are familiar with the details of their state’s laws regarding cellphone use when driving so they can avoid getting traffic tickets and having to pay expensive fines.
In Colorado, the cellphone laws for drivers are as follows:
- There is currently no ban on the use of hand-held cellphones for drivers who are older than 18 years old.
- Drivers who are younger than 18 years old are NOT allowed to use cellphones when driving.
- There is no cellphone ban for bus drivers.
- All drivers in Colorado are forbidden from texting while driving, and this texting ban is enforceable as a primary law (meaning that police officers can pull over and ticket drivers they suspect of texting while driving without having to have any other reason – such as running a red light – for pulling over drivers).
Littleton Car Accident Attorneys
If you have been injured in or have lost a loved one in a car accident, truck accident or in any type of traffic accident and suspect that the other driver who caused the accident may have been texting while driving, you are encouraged to consult with the motor vehicle accident lawyers at the Law Office of Mike Hulen, PC.
Our trusted Littleton personal injury and accident attorneys have a proven track record of successfully handling car accident cases, wrongful death suits and other types of personal injury lawsuits, and we are experienced at helping victims and their families secure the maximum possible settlement for their losses. We encourage those who think they may have a claim to meet with us for a free initial consult to learn more about their legal rights and to receive a thorough evaluation of their case. Call us at (303) 932-8666 to get your case started at no upfront cost.