According to the National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration (NHTSA), about 6 million car accidents occur each year in the U.S. While a person dies in a car accident approximately 12 minutes, someone is injured in a car crash every 12 seconds in the U.S. Given the frequency with which car accidents occur, as well as the serious amount of physical and financial damage they can cause, it’s important that all Colorado drivers familiarize themselves with some basic facts about them and what people who are involved in car crashes should do in the aftermath of them. The following are some Colorado car accident facts:
- About 1 in every 4 drivers has been involved in a car accident within the past five years.
- Every driver in Colorado must have car insurance in order to register their car with the DMV.
- The minimum requirements for Colorado vehicle liability insurance is as follows: $25,000 per person for injuries, $50,000 per accident for injuries, and $15,000 per accident for property damage.
- During hard economic times, many people will get car insurance just to register their vehicle, and then they will cancel it; currently, about 1 in every 7 drivers is predicted to not have car insurance.
- Those who are pulled over by police officers and found to not have car insurance can be fined $500, receive four points on their drivers license and face a possible license suspension for a first offense.
- Drivers who are involved in car accidents will only have two years from the date of the accident to file a personal injury lawsuit against negligent or reckless parties who have caused or contributed to the crash.
- Some of the bases of viable personal injury lawsuits related to car accidents include another driver failing to comply with traffic laws, driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, and driving while texting or otherwise distracted; additionally, should a piece of vehicle equipment malfunction, the manufacturer may be liable to pay injured parties damages for their suffering or losses.